The SpaceOne bedroom apartment with living room and balcony located in Stari grad, couple minutes from the sea and pebble beach. Apartment is on the third floor. Private parking.
One bedroom apartment with living room and balcony is located on the third floor, it consists of one bedroom with double bed, and a living room where you will find twoo sofa convertible for two persons. . It is equipped with air conditioning, Wi - Fi internet access, SAT TV. There is a equipped kitchen with necessary cooking facilities. Bathroom is equipped with toilet, bathtub and shower . Apartment has a nice spacious balcony.
Apartment Facilities: Bathroom, Toilet, Parking, Washing machine, TV, Satellite Channels, WIFI, Oven, Microwave, Coffee maker, Refrigerator, Freezer, Balcony, Air-conditioning, Shower, Hair dryer.
Cot available on request The NeighborhoodStari Grad has a long history. There was a village here even as far back as prehistoric times, however the first documented traces were found in 384 B.C. when settlers from the Greek island of Paros founded the polis or city-state of Faros. Stari Grad’s most famous ancient habitant is general Demetrius, a short-term governor of the Illyrian state and an associate of powerful Hannibal from Kartaga.
After Demetrius’ failure in 219 B.C., the town became dependent on Rome and remained so until late antiquity.
There are numerous monuments that are evidence of the town’s turbulent history which can be seen in numerous points during a walk through the old city centre as well as in the museums. Medieval history starts with the arrival of the Slavs – Croats during the 6th and 7th centuries with the town inheriting an ancient tradition.
It was the seat of the Medieval diocese of Hvar which later became Novi Grad back in 1278 when the diocese and its administration was transferred, whilst the old Hvar (Faros, Pharia) took the name Stari Grad, which is still carries today.
During the Renaissance period, it was the country seat of Hvar’s nobles and one of them - Petar Hektorovic, poet and architect mentioned it a great deal. The baroque 17th and 18th centuries was when most of the town’s churches and residences were built, whilst in the 19th century, when Stari Grad was a port with a large fleet of its own sailboats, the town’s coastal front was established.
In the 20th century, which was marked by wars and emigration, the town began to focus on the tourism we can still see today, alongside viticulture and olive growing which are the main economic sectors.
These 24 centuries of written history have left visible traces in the urban part of Stari Grad so a walk through the town and surrounding areas represents a unique contact with history.
Of the numerous small squares in Stari Grad, the most picturesque is Škor. Almost like a theatre coulisse (which it is during the summer cultural events), this square was formed later, during the 17th /18th centuries from a stretch of shallow water, where there was once a shipyard, which was covered and the square took its name from this (škor from škver, in the Dalmatian dialect, means shipyard). Working-class houses with picturesque luminari (roof windows) as well as sulari and skalinade (stone terraces with staircase) which are typical in Dalmatia close the curved space where the mythical Dalmatia lives.
Trg sv. Stjepana (St. Stephen’s Square) in front of the parish church of the same name, which was the first cathedral on Island of Hvar, is the most important public space in the Stari Grad. In the past, sentences were passed here and agreements were made, now the daily rhythms of its inhabitants and guests have moved to Riva, it has become an oasis of silence and contemplation.
St. Stephen’s church is a baroque building whose construction started in 1605, after the old cathedral and bishop’s court had been blown down. The main gateway and probably the façade too were built by the famous Korcula's master, Ivan Pomenic, who was also the builder of the current cathedral in Hvar. Local masters built the church whilst Venetian artists decorated its interior with altars and altar paintings.
The Church tower dates back to 1753 and its base and ground floor are built of large stone blocks which were taken from the ancient city Faros walls as is mentioned in the inscription over the church tower doorway.
On the first church tower block is a stone relief of a Roman nave from the 2nd century which was built into the wall whilst the other ancient monument, the winged Erot, from the same period can be found in the southern part of the square. The winged Erot is part of a Roman tomb-stone and holds a bunch of grapes and an upside-down torch in its hands, whilst under it are birds from the afterlife.