Historic Miner's Cottage - Lovingly Restored
- Airport Shuttle
- Pets Allowed
- Swimming Pool
- Smoking Allowed
Our cottage is a genuine slice of Canterbury history. Built in the 1890's it was home to the miners who worked the nearby mountains. Lovingly restored to preserve the original rustic charm, the open plan living provides for a cosy atmosphere enhanced by the open fire and wood-fired stove.
The bedrooms are comfortably furnished and the well appointed kitchen makes catering your holiday a pleasure, with views up toward the church of St. Aidan through the picture window.
Our cottage has two bedrooms, which sleep four - we have overflow accommodation in the 1930's school house which is onsite and shares the cottage bathroom facilites. It has its own fireplace It is open plan and sleeps up to 4 adults. (The school house can only be hired with the cottage).
The Mt. Somers area boasts a range of activities that will cater to a wide range of holiday makers seeking a quiet, rural retreat. Nearby DOC (Dept of Conservation) walks range from easy to challenging. Nestled between the Rakaia and Rangitata rivers and a short drive from Lakes Clearwater and Heron, fishing, boating, swimming and rafting are all easily enjoyed.
Other local options include: Visits to Lord of the Rings (Edoras) locations, heli-skiing (Mt. Potts), easy access to Mt. Hutt Skifield, ice-skating in nearby Stavely and just relaxing in the expansive, rustic garden.
It's a perfect getaway in summer and winter with an apres-ski option of toasting marshmallows over the open fire being hard to resist.